THE COLOUR OF BLACK

It’s funny to even think of black as a colour for some people. And I reckon that might be fair. After-all, in the visible spectrum, it represents an opposition to white light which combines all frequencies and therefore all colours of that range. Black is in fact, an absence of them all. So it logically removes itself from being a colour at all, doesn’t it? But given we have spoken before, regarding perceptions and reality, what is it that black actually pertains to in our hearts and minds – what and how we associate the colour to mean in our lives and for our selves? What affects does it have upon our psyche in relation to colour psychology and, as importantly, why do some of us wear it almost exclusively?
JCASH

Ah, I’d love to wear a rainbow every day, And tell the world that everything’s OK, But I’ll try to carry off a little darkness on my back, ‘Till things are brighter, I’m the Man In Black.

Johnny Cash

And it won’t come as a surprise then, that most beanies are black, most hoodies are black, that teenagers dress in black more often than other colours? But this ‘colour of all colours’ can be used to cover much more than the obvious right? Funerals are almost always associated with black as are nightmares, horror films, mystery, and emptyness.

Considering the fundamental understandings afforded us through N.L.P (nuero-linguistic programming) we begin to comprehend the magnitude of correlation between external and internal. For example how we walk affects how we feel, but how we feel can affect how we walk. What we wear can affect how we feel and without doubt (we see it all the time), when people are feeling heavy, anxious, fearful, lacking in esteem or confidence, dark, depressive, suicidal, or exhausted, they will more often than not, choose dark colours to wear – usually black. But just because our associations or, indoctrinations as Harry Palmer would call them, are strongly implying that black is a reflection of all of these things including confusion, heavy emotion, and an inability to face the world, it doesn’t have to be.

Black is the end, but the end always implies a new beginning. When the light appears, black becomes white, the color of new beginnings

Judith Collins

Death to the old, life to the new? A rebirth of sorts? And that being the case, who wouldn’t want a rebirth “of sorts”? Most people (granted not all) would be happy with a wash or cleanse as it were, of the proverbial pressures and baggage accumulated over a lifetime of learning so far. Emptying the vacuum cleaner allowing it to restart and perform at it’s best, cleaning the blackboard off having absorbed all of its contents and rendering them no longer necessary making space with a wipe clean therefore, for more thoughts and experiences to come. And if this is it, the power that black can and does hold for us, and how we use it becomes more important than just using it alone.

It creates a barrier between itself and the outside world, providing comfort while protecting its emotions and feelings, and hiding its vulnerabilities, insecurities and lack of self confidence

Judith Collins

We all use black at various times to hide from the world around us in one way or another. Some of us use it to hide our weight; others among us use it to hide our feelings, our fears or our insecurities

color-psychology.com

Would it be worthy of consideration? – In the right time and place?
I am often surprised by peoples’ reactions to my own attire when, without conscious awareness, I have donned a coloured shirt or top, and receive comments that I have rarely if at all, been seen out of black. So bringing my attention to the now as it were helps. It allows me to explore why this is the case, why I am more often than not, drawn to black but more importantly than that, it allows me to explore what I need to go through in order that black has been used to its fullest extent. I can assess where I am at with my journey through the black and how I might begin to utilise the cleanse as it were – rewriting the verse or, starting the next chapter in this unfolding I call my life. This way, I have no quarms about black itself and in fact, acknowledge and celebrate the wonderous nature it affords us both in our now moments, and in what is to come through growth and change.

All successful ritual contains first, a death of the old. Without this, no implying of the ‘new’ can take place. We must take ourselves as we are, for all the hurt and challenge we have experienced to this point. We must acknowledge it, thank it, know that it was necessary. And then we must lose it having benefitted from the experience and rendering these aspects no longer necessary within us. Shedding of the proverbial skin or baggage occurs, most successfully without interference, without interuption, without distraction, and in our own silences. Sounds like black to me?

I fell in love with black, it contained all colour. It wasn’t a negation of colour … Black is the most aristocratic color of all … You can be quiet, and it contains the whole thing

Louise Nevelson

Perhaps some of us would agree after all, where are the confusing hues? The abberations? The flare? Or the dispersions of other colours when we observe? Black is black, it is pure and honest, no need for judgement or analysis, it doesn’t come to us with any level of pretense, it is what it is – simple and plain yet, extraordinarily strong.
And besides, when it happens, I can’t help but feel refreshed when I do wear a splash or more of colour. Of course it’s because I know I will surprise the people around me. It is also because I will know I have progressed and am growing along my human need to expand. But something else too, I will also be aware that my own perceptions and those around me, by similarly acknowledging and appreciating the colour when it does come, will ready ourselves for even more appreciation of contrast which will no doubt re-occur in the future. This will be when I am in need of more ‘step-back’, more cleansing, more assessment and growth. And all of that will become blatantly, and welcomly, obvious when I am again, donned in:

THE COLOUR OF BLACK

 

Pleasant musings as always

Johnny

 

REFERENCES

Colins, Judith, D, THE COLOR OF BLACK, http://www.judithdcollins.com/#!color-black-/c1z9k

THE COLOR BLACK, http://www.empower-yourself-with-color-psychology.com/color-black.html

Nevelson, Louise, http://www.sensationalcolor.com

Palmer, Harry, http://www.avatarepc.com

Standard

Leave a Reply

